Do you NEED to be a good moto rider to be a great DH rider?

Related:
astrizzle
Fantasy
3697th
Back in the day when Palmer and Gwin blew everyone's minds by crossing over from moto to DH and doing so well, it probably put a seed into the head of the best DH riders at the time: Do I HAVE to start getting good at motocross if I want to be as good as Gwin on a DH bike? Nowadays I see pretty much the whole top 20 DH world cup riders are all very good on their dirt bikes, maybe not "pro level" but good enough to risk their DH careers by hitting huge transfers, 60 ft gaps and gnarly whoop sections at high speeds in training. My question is, if you want to get into DH at a top level, do you NEED to also risk serious injury by getting really good at moto as well? I'm a sports medicine professional and I know you may be able to replicate the workout of a motocross session in the gym but there is soo much more to it that you can't replicate in any gym (crossfart or otherwise). Is it even possible to be a top level DH rider withOUT also being a really good moto rider these days?
Poll

Can you make it in the WC downhill circuit without being above average on a motocross bike?

Choices
|
sspomer
Fantasy
66th
6/3/2021 1:09pm Edited Date/Time 6/3/2021 1:10pm
rad question! (lol crossfart).

here's this for fun too

Eoin
Fantasy
42nd
6/3/2021 1:55pm
I remember an interview with Rachel Atherton saying she was trying to convince the other DH girls to get into moto (presumably more enduro style moto than MX), because it was such a huge help physically and to be process the speeds. So definitely something to it, seems like one of the best cross training sports.

That being said, i'm not sure "being above average at moto" is accurate for a bunch of the top DH guys including dudes beating Gwin, only a handful put in enough time as far as I can tell to actually have decent skills.